Subscribe to the LCLS Newsletter | Manage Preferences
April - June 2014     VOLUME 18 ISSUE 2
< Back to Articles

Wheel of Time

An Epic Fantasy
Crystal Osborne

I read a lot of fantasy, and so I had been aware of The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan. It’s an epic story of good versus evil in the simplest terms, but it is sooo much more than that. One thing I love about fantasy is that it can incorporate any and everything from others genres, it has romance, mystery, adventure and horror along with the magic.

The first book in the series, The Eye of the World was released in January 1990, over the next 17 years 11 books in the series were written. In 2007, Robert Jordan died while writing the final book. He had prepared extensive notes so another author was able to complete the series.

Harriet Popham Rigney, Jordan’s widow and editor chose Brandon Sanderson to finish the series. During the course of working on the book, it was decided it would be too big to publish as one book; it would be broken into three books. The series in now finished with a total of 14 books.

Because Brandon Sanderson is my favorite author, I chose to start the massive series. I am very glad that I did.


The Wheel of Time Series Book 1

Check it out today! Also available in audiobook form.

 The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. In the Third Age, an Age of Prophecy, the World and Time themselves hang in the balance. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.