Subscribe to the LCLS Newsletter | Manage Preferences
October - December 2008     VOLUME 12 ISSUE 4
 
< Back to Articles
 

Election 2008

Caryl Harris

Every year, it seems that the internet has a bigger and bigger impact on our election process. Hopefully for our country it will not only partially change the way we inform ourselves but how also thoroughly we do so.

In a Democracy where informed voters are necessary to our successful future, the internet seems, at least on the surface, to offer an easy way to become informed about politicians and political issues and a salvation, of sorts, to a country demanding an informed electorate on more and more issues.

Of course, the internet can also contain a wealth of misinformation, and anyone using it should look at who is sponsoring each website.
The following websites will hopefully prove both useful and entertaining to those who are interested.

The official websites of the five presidential nominees who have brought in the most money into their campaigns are (in alphabetical order by each candidate’s last name):
Bob Bar (Libertarian): www.bobbarr2008.com
John McCain (Republican): www.johnmccain.com
Cynthia McKinney (Green): http://mckinney-clemente.org
Ralph Nader (Independent): www.votenader.org
Barack Obama (Democrat): www.barackobama.com

Websites that can, among other things, let you take quizzes about what you think on major issues and then tell you which presidential candidate most closely matches your opinions are:
Speak Out: www.speakout.com
USA Today: www.usatoday.com/news/politics/election2008/candidate-match-game.htm

To learn about state and national issues, who state and national candidates are and how they stand on the issues (plus much more), the following seem to be good non-partisan sites:
Public Agenda Online: www.publicagenda.org
League of Women Voters: www.lwv.org
Project Vote Smart: www.votesmart.org

To help you track campaign contributions (who is giving how much to whom), the following website are very helpful:
Federal Election Commission: www.fec.gov/disclosure.shtml
Open Secrets: www.opensecrets.org

Want to know what the latest polls are saying about the candidates or the issues? Try the following website:
Polling Report: http://PollingReport.com

Relying on the polls, the following website predicts who is ahead in the electoral vote:
Electoral Vote Predictor: www.electoral-vote.com

Information on Lake County, Florida’s elections and ballots are on the Supervisor of Elections website:
Supervisor of Elections: http://elections.lakecountyfl.gov