News Release

For immediate release - April 16, 2014

Writers’ One Flight Up Announce Poetry Contest Winners

The Writers’ One Flight Up have announced the winners of their 2014 Poetry Contest. These remarkable poets include Elmo Adams, Sherry Bannan, Danny Best, Roderick E. Billette, Iva-Lyn Crandall, Donna Jean DeBard, Adrian Griffey, Melanie Terry Griffey, Richard Henderson, Violet Irminger, Susan Green Jaillet, Linda Kraus, Jane Peterson, Emily C. Ross, Tina Sacco, Mildred Santiago, Carl Scharwath, Pat Shamrock and Dian Zirilli-Mares. Copies of their poems can be found on the Lake County Library System website under the Writers’ Page.

Lake County Library System, the W. T. Bland Public Library and members of Writers One Flight Up shared the celebration of National Poetry Month with special guest and Pulitzer Prize nominee Vivian Shipley. Photos can be viewed at

To continue the activities for National Poetry Month, the East Lake County Library is sponsoring the 12th Annual Poetry contest. The Poetry Contest is for all ages and there is no limit to how many entries that can be submitted by one person. This contest will be judged by the Palm Writers Group and prizes will be awarded to the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Place winners of each age group.

The entry forms and the guidelines for the East Lake contest are posted on the website under news and events



Media contact:
Judy Buckland
Program Coordinator

« Back to Current News